Bicycle Convoys 2014

Listed below are bicycle commuter convoys for Bike to Work Day on Friday May 16, 2014. All bicyclists are welcome to join the free convoys and there’s no need to sign up for a convoy. Each bike to work day convoy is led by experienced bicycle commuters and travel throughout the region to popular employment centers. See if there’s one traveling by your area and to your pit stop. Most but not all Commuter Convoys end at Freedom Plaza in downtown, D.C. There are designated pick up points along the way, you can also just join the group as they pedal on by, and of course you may leave the convoy anywhere along the route to suit your convenience.


View 2014 Bike to Work Day Commuter Convoys in a larger map

Please email the convoy leader to RSVP for the ride. The convoy ride leaders leave promptly according to their start time.

Unless otherwise noted, all Commuter Convoys end at Freedom Plaza in downtown, DC. Please click on convoy links for cue sheets of the route, as well as pick up points along the way. Times and locations are currently subject to change. As Bike To Work Day approaches keep your eye on this page for the most up to date convoy information.

Check back for more info and convoys to be added.

#1 Falls Church, VA to Downtown, DC
Start Location: Providence Rec Center 7525 Marc Dr Falls Chuch, VA (Rte 50 just inside the Beltway)
Start Time: 6:30 am
Convoy Leader: Shawn   Gallagher, shawn.gallagher@gmail.com
Other: Continues from Rosslyn to Freedom plaza if there is a need

#2 Vienna to Downtown DC        
Start Location: Vienna Community Center
Start Time: 6:30 am
Convoy Leader: Ross Ruske, rrruske@aol.com
More Info: With a stop at the Rosslyn Pitstop

#3 Mount Pleasant to Downtown DC
Start Location: Lamont St. Plaza
Start Time: 7:30 am
Convoy Leader: Shawn Blumenfeld, shawnbega@gmail.com
More Info: This is Shawn’s 18th year leading this ride!

#4 Bethesda to Downtown DC 
Start Location: Bethesda at Woodmont Aves
Start Time: 7:00 am        
Convoy Leader: Jennifer Longsworth, wheelinjen@aol.com

#5 Chevy Chase to Downtown DC
Start Location: Chevy Chase Circle
Start Time: 7:00 am
Convoy Leader: Hugh Hilliard, hugh.hilliard@gmail.com

#6 Silver Spring to Downtown DC
Start Location: Discovery Plaza
Start Time: 7:00
Convoy Leader: Rich Monastersky, rich.monastersky@gmail.com
More Info: Route goes through Rock Creek Park

#7 Takoma Park to Downtown DC 
Start Location: Caroll Ave and Westmoreland
Start Time: 7:00 am
Convoy Leader: Mike Goodno, mike.goodno@dc.gov

#8 Greenbelt to Downtown DC (via College Park pit stop)    
(written directions)
Start Location: Greenbelt Aquatic Center
Start Time: 7:00 am
Convoy Leader: Jeff Lemieux, jlemieux256@gmail.com

#8a College Park to Downtown DC (picked up by Greenbelt convoy)
Approximate arrival time of convoy from Greenbelt is 7:40 am

#9 North Arlington to Falls Church to Tysons Corner       
Start Location: Rosslyn bike counter (rt 29 and Lynn st)
Start Time: 6:30 am Convoy Leader: Greg Bain, gregorybain1@gmail.com
More Info: Rally point at 7am on the east side of citizen’s bridge (crossing Rt. 7)

#10 Shady Grove, to White Flint Mall to US Nuclear Regulatory Commission   
Start Location: Shady Grove Metro Station
Start Time: 7:00 am
Convoy Leader: Steve Smith, stephen.smith@nrc.gov

#11 Anacostia to Downtown DC
Start Location: Good Hope Rd & MLK Ave SE
Start Time: 7:30 am
Convoy Leader: Alphonso Coles, hot_coles@hotmail.com

#12 Capitol Heights to Downtown DC 
Start Location: Marlyand Park Bicycles
Start Time: 6:45 am
Convoy Leader: Kevin Ware, kevin_ware@hotmail.com

#13 Laurel to Suitland Federal Center
Start Location: Park and Ride on Old Sandy Spring Road at intersection with Van Dusen Road (just off MD 198)
Start Time: 6:00 am
Convoy Leader: Michael Ratcliffe, michael.r.ratcliffe@census.gov

#14 Dupont to Downtown DC  
Start Location: Dupont
Start Time: 7:45 am
Convoy Leader: Lia Seremetis, lia.seremetis@gmail.com
More Info: DC Bike Party, will have soundbike

#15 Meridian Hill to Suitland Federal Center  
Start Location: SW corner of 15th and V Streets, NW
Start Time: 7:00 am        
Convoy Leader: Joelle Abramowitz, joelle.h.abramowitz@census.gov

#16 Kemp Mill to North Bethesda/ White Flint                                   
Start Location: Kemp Mill Shopping center. Parking lot next to the park.
Start Time: 7:00 am
Convoy Leader: Jeff Poretsky, jeff.poretsky@gmail.com

#17 Glenn Dale to Downtown DC
Start Location: Trail Head of the WB&A trail (WBA trail and MD-450)
Start Time:  6:00 am
Convoy Leader: Jim Titus, jtitus@risingsea.net

#18: Mt. Rainier to Dupont Circle
Start Location: MD -193 and MD -564
Start Time: 6:00 am
Convoy Leader: Tracy Hadden Loh, tracy@railstotrails.org

Frederick City Hall to the Transit Station (Ceremonial Ride)